THE PROTECTORS OF SACRE COEUR

I am somehow infatuated with gargoyles. I adore their seemingly ugly features, their celebration of  ‘other’ness, their freedom to just  stick off a building while every other adornment is neatly in place, their fierce protectiveness, their face expressing hate, disgust, and fierce passion at the same time…

I spent last weekend in Paris with my girlfriends. Of course we did other things than take photos (like watching a show at the Moulin Rouge, going shopping at La Galerie Lafayette, visiting the Rodin Museum, watching an elderly lady hip-hop (on the border of strip) dance at a metro station,  and stumbling into a slightly seedy Samba Bar and being taught there how to samba by a huge black guy – BUT for me, the highlight was Montmatre with it’s amazing architecture. Montmatre – or maybe Paris as a whole – oozes art from every pore. You cannot look at a single lamp post or balcony without being inspired into creating your own piece of art. Light, shadows, music, the view, even the super-tourist traps have their attraction…

I am digressing…what I want to share with you are the georgeous, amazing, aloof gargoyles of Sacre Coeur –

Enjoy!!

