Bark It Up!

Since the season for snow dyeing seems to be over here in Massachusetts (although, I do remember a certain Easter Egg hunt in the snow years ago – so who knows!), I will have to refocus on other dyeing methods.

We have 17 maple trees on our property. Maple bark is supposed to yield a wonderful shade of greenish brown. So let’s give it a try!

My previous attempt of dyeing with maple bark did not turn out the way I imagined. The problems were: Not using enough bark. Not letting it soak for a sufficient period of time. Not having the fabric soak long enough. In short: I was too impatient!

 

Doesn’t look too bad, but I had something different in mind.

So I went around our yard today and collected maple bark. There was no lack thereof, what with snow storms wreaking havoc on the Northeast of the US.

This is what I collected:

 

This was also a very productive way of getting rid of debris!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

There is quite an amount of lichen present on the bark I collected

 

 

 

 

 

I wonder how it will affect the color in general.

I will be patient. Let the bark soak for at least a week. Then boil it up. And then I will update you!

